Public Notice - New Judicial Center...More Information


About Florence Area Transportation Study

As a Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO), the Florence Area Transportation Study (FLATS) is a process by which local officials and citizens have input in the expenditure of transportation funds within the urban area of Florence, South Carolina. Any major road project or transit project that takes place in this area using federal funds must be considered and approved by the FLATS Policy Committee.

The FLATS Policy Committee consists of representatives from the State Legislature, members of Florence County Council and Florence City Council, and the Mayor of the Town of Quinby. Any projects that come before the FLATS Policy Committee are first examined by the FLATS Study Team, which consists of technical representatives from various agencies and departments in the area. The recommendations provided by the FLATS Study Team are then passed on to the FLATS Policy Committee for consideration. Projects approved by the FLATS Policy Committee are then listed in the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP).

Efforts are made to give the public an opportunity to have input in the transportation planning process. A wide range of people, including agencies, community groups, individuals, and the media, are notified of the meetings. The Florence County Planning Department provides the staff work for FLATS and is available to assist the public with transportation questions.

For additional information on the TIP or the FLATS Long Range Plan, or if you would like to become involved in the transportation planning process by being placed on the FLATS mailing list, please call us at (843) 656-1503! We look forward to hearing from you!

FLATS Policy Committee Public Hearing and Public Comment Request

The Florence Area Transportation Study (FLATS) Policy Committee will hold a meeting at 10:30 A.M. on Friday, July 27, 2018 at the Florence County Complex, Room 803. The items for discussion are:
DRAFT FY2017-FY2022 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Financial Sheet Amendments – Public Comment Period: July 17, 2018 through July 26, 2018
DRAFT FY2040 Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP) – Public Comment Period: June 27, 2018 through July 26, 2018

These documents are available for comment during the specified dates, Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. at the Florence County Planning & Building Inspections Department located at 518 S. Irby St. and at the Drs. Bruce and Lee Foundation Library located at 509 S. Dargan St., from 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. or online at
The Federal Transit Authority (FTA) programs listed in the TIP for public comment are:
• Pee Dee Regional Transportation Authority (PDRTA) – FTA Program 5307. The TIP process is being used to meet the Public Participation requirements for the PDRTA projects;
• Florence Senior Citizens Association – FTA Program 5310;
• Florence Disabilities and Special Needs Board – FTA Program 5310;
• Darlington County Council on Aging – FTA Program 5310.

Please submit any questions or comments to: Florence County Planning Department, 518 S. Irby St., Florence, SC 29501 ATTN: FLATS, or call (843) 676-8600.

TIP Meeting Draft
2040 LRTP Meeting Draft

Committee Members

Policy Committee – Voting Members

  • Senator Hugh K. Leatherman, Sr., State Senate District 31, Chairman
  • Mayor Stephen J. Wukela, City of Florence, Vice Chairman
  • Sherwin Welch, Florence County Transportation Committee
  • Representative Phillip Lowe, SC House District 60
  • Commissioner Tony K. Cox, SCDOT Transportation Commission, District 7
  • Mayor T. Ashby Gregg, Town of Quinby
  • Chairman Kent C. Caudle, Florence County Council District 5
  • Secretary/Chaplin Waymon Mumford, Florence County Council District 7
  • Councilmember Teresa Myers Ervin, City of Florence Council District 1

Policy Committee – Non-Voting Members

  • K.G. Rusty Smith, Jr., Florence County Administrator
  • Shawn Brashear, Florence County Director of Planning
  • Jody Lane, Chairman, Florence County Planning Commission Chairman
  • Jim Feda, SCDOT Deputy Secretary of Intermodal Planning
  • Kyle Berry, SCDOT Engineer Administrator, District 5
  • Emily Lawton, FHWA Division Administrator
  • Drew Griffin, City of Florence Manager
  • Drew Chaplin, City of Florence Planning Commission Chairman
  • Chuck MacNeil, PDRTA Executive Director
  • Willie Smith, Florence Regional Airport Commission Chairman

Study Team Members

  • Shawn Brashear, Florence County Director of Planning
  • Jody Lane, Florence County Planning Commission Chairman
  • Drew Chaplin, City of Florence Planning Commission Chairman
  • Jerry Dudley, City of Florence Planning
  • Clint Moore, City of Florence Planning
  • Bryant Gardner, City of Darlington Council
  • Lisa Rock, City of Darlington Planner
  • Wayne Yarborough, Darlington County Planner
  • Mary Bines, Town of Timmonsville
  • Chuck MacNeil, PDRTA Executive Director
  • Sandy Watford, PDCOG Planner
  • Clay Young, PDCOG Special Projects
  • Glenn Greene, Florence Regional Airport Administrator
  • Connie Anderson, Florence Regional Airport Executive Director
  • Yolanda Morris, FHWA Community Planner
  • Michael Bethea, SCDOT Traffic Engineer, District 5
  • TBD, SCDOT Regional Planner
  • Crystal McCutcheon, SCDOT Planner
  • Brian Dix, SCDOT Program Manager, Pee Dee Production Group
  • Leah Quattlebaum, SCDOT Asst. Program Manager, Pee Dee Production Group
  • Stephen Jones, SCDOT Asst. Program Manager, Pee Dee Production Group
  • David Burgess, SCDOT Transit Regional Planning Manager
  • Herb Cooper, SCDOT Enhancement Coordinator